I’m So Damn Close, I Can Taste It

I love comics.

There. I said it. We’ve gotten that out of the way.

But it’s more than love, really. Comics are my passion. There’s something amazing about the world that comics creates – a visual world equally reliant on both text and image. It could be argued that it’s no different than watching a movie on mute and with subtitles, but that would be wrong. There’s a level of user engagement in comics not seen in that oh-so-prevalent moving picture. But I digress.

I love comics, and I want to be part of that world. So years ago I started writing scripts, and finally took the dive and started illustrating my own humor series, Carbon and Space, which I’ve updated off and on since 2009. But this weekend marks a new chapter in my life. I will be attending a comic convention; my first convention as an exhibitor in Artist Alley.

I’m excited, I’m scared, I’m filled with… feelings. Big names like Mark Waid and Valiant Comics will be a stone’s throw away. This might not be my chance to break into the big leagues (or even the minor leagues, to take the metaphor further), but this is a shot at getting some people to know my name and see what I can do.

What I need right now is a perception shift. This weekend, it’s not about the big dogs and how I can run with them; it’s about the fans. It’s about people like me who adore comic books, graphic novels, the strips, the funnies, whatever you call them. This is a weekend to celebrate the medium that has brought so much joy and happiness into our lives! This isn’t about me or my work or Mark Waid or Valiant – it’s about what we make, about our passion.

We make comics because we love comics.

Leave a Reply

